Holidays · Life

Doom, Death, Despair

Now that Valentine’s Day is over and done with, I can fully wallow in the overwhelming sadness that is my singleness. Last night, I kept tossing and turning, thinking about all of my past boyfriends. And, by boyfriends I mean the three boys with whom I was in mutual crush with during my elementary school days. So many “what-could-have-beens.” Not “what ifs,” though. That’s too cliche.

On days like these, while recovering from the bombardment of happy Valentine couples, I like to cuddle up and let myself ugly-cry. I’ve already given you my list of happy romance movies. Now it’s time for the heart-breakers.

Just like my playground romances, these cinematic relationships were doomed from the beginning. They were just too beautiful to last. I love a good tragic romance. They make me feel just a little bit better for not being in a relationship myself. They also simultaneously make my heart hurt tremendously while increasing my desire to find my one true love. It’s a vicious cycle. Why do I do this to myself?

For your pleasure, or despair, rather, here are the top romances on my ugly-crying movie list.

SPOILER ALERT: If you have yet to see one or more of these movies, I’m sorry to break it to you, but they all have sad endings. Tears ahead.

1. A Walk to Remember (2002)

∴ This is the only Nicholas Spark’s romance that I can tolerate. It gets my right in the feels every time I watch it. It’s a classic “popular boy falls for unpopular girl” romance, and will fill up your 90s nostalgia quota nicely.

2. Bright Star (2009)

∴ Ah, the beauty and devastation of the love life of Romantic poet John Keats. This movie is hard to beat for “movie that rips out your heart and makes you question every good thing in the world.” Never again will you be able to look at a John Keats’ poem without tearing up.

3. Romeo + Juliet (2013)

∴ Every student in America is familiar with this story. Usually, I have a hard time sympathizing with the rash, over-emotional teenagers that star in this famous Shakespeare play. This depiction makes it a bit easier. Most people go gaga over the DiCaprio version, but I like this one much better. The beautiful scenery, authentic costumes, and amazing cast make this tragic romance much more potent than it ever was in English class.

4. The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

∴ This movie is quirky and funny, and always gives my tear glands a good workout. Even though I know what’s going to happen, I can’t help lose emotional control whenever I watch it. The value of infinity has forever been changed.

5. Me Before You (2016)

∴ This recent heart-breaker is one of my new favorites. The main characters are funny and witty, and their sweet, doomed romance is almost too much to bear. This movie makes my heart flutter and hope, and then turns around to crush it without mercy. I love it.

Leave a Reply

