Holidays · Life

Love, Life, Laughter

Valentine’s Day is once again upon us. I have mixed feelings about this holiday. While the sight of all those heart balloons hanging up at Walmart made me a bit cross-eyed, I do enjoy binge watching cheesy romances. And, stuffing my face with chocolate without feeling guilty.

My blankets were very lovey-dovey this morning. They didn’t want to let me go. I can’t blame them. Rainy days make for perfect cuddling and movie watching weather.  I may not have a significant other, but I do have a heart shaped box of chocolates, a soft blanket, and a stash of romance movies. And, that’s good enough for me. Well, at least I’m gonna keep telling myself that.

In honor of this day of love, I decided to pick some of my favorite feel-good romance movies and share them with you. It was really hard to narrow this list down. There are just so many good movies to choose from. What can I say? I’m a sucker for a good love story.

1. The Princess Bride (1987)

♥ This one is a classic. If you haven’t seen it, you are missing out. It’s a funny, witty twist on the classic tales of romance and adventure. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve watched this movie. Never more have I wanted to hear the words “As you wish.” Just watch out for the Rats of Unusual Size.

2. Penelope (2007)

♥ A modern fantasy, this movie is absolutely adorable, and it stars the ever gorgeous James McAvoy as a handsome, tortured musician. Mmmm.

3. Decoy Bride (2011)

♥ This one is a bit ridiculous, but that’s why I love it. It takes place on a tiny Scottish island, and it makes my heart flutter and my funny bone shake every time I watch it. I relate very well to the awkward shenanigans of the main character.

4. Austenland (2013)

♥ As you can probably tell by the title, this movie is all about Jane Austen. I love Jane Austen. All those lovely romances, and lovelier men. Still looking for her Mr. Darcy, a young woman decides to step back in time by visiting an Austen themed park. It’s pretty hilarious.

5. Cinderella (2015)

♥  I couldn’t leave this one off my list. I’ve always had a special place in my heart for Disney movies. Watching this take on the classic fairy tale just made me feel so giddy inside. It’s a pure, simple, magical love story, and I adore it.

Leave a Reply

