Books

An Ever Growing Pile

It is time once again for the making of my annual “To Read” list. Last year was a complete and utter failure. I only ended up reading about 3 books from my list. It’s sad, really. I remember the days when I would finish 3 three books in a week, let a alone in a year. Growing up really sucks sometimes. This year, however, I don’t have to worry about tests and essays and books only partially read (enough to pass a class.) I am determined to read and read and read, like the good old days.

This year, my sister, Bethany, provided me with the push needed to get back in the saddle. She challenged me, along with two of our other sisters, to one of those ready-made reading lists that can be found on Facebook or Pinterest. You know the ones I mean. They provide a list of categories, leaving it up to the participants to find books that fit.

There are plenty of books I could choose from. The real difficulty is narrowing it down. I have an ever growing pile of novels that are waiting to be read. I’ll probably die surrounded by piles books I meant to read. For most categories, I was able to find a book (or books) in a breeze. Others were not so easy. Do you know how difficult it is to find a book with my name in it? Pretty hard. Much harder than I thought it would be, at least. And harder more to find one that I might actually want to sit down and read. As for the “book set somewhere you’ll be visiting this year…”

They want me to fail, don’t they?

Wish me luck.

  • A book you read in school:
    • Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte
  • A book from your childhood:
    • The Wind in the Willows, Kenneth Grahame
  • A book published over 100 years ago: 
    • Mansfield Park, Jane Austen
  • A book published in the last year: 
    • Fear the Drowning Deep, Sarah Glen Marsh
  • A non-fiction:
    • The Weight of Glory, C. S. Lewis
  • A book written by a male author:
    • The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, Frank L. Baum
  • A book written by a female author:
    • Austenland, Shannon Hale
  • A book by someone who isn’t a (professional) writer:
    • Lenten Lands: My Childhood with Joy Davidman and C. S. Lewis, Douglas Gresham
  • A book that became a film:
    • Me Before You, Jojo Moyes
  • A book published in the 20th century:
    • The Tombs of Atuan (Earthsea #2), Ursula K. Le Guin
  • A book set in your hometown/region:
    • Where the Heart Is, Billie Letts
  • A book with someone’s name in the title:
    • From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, E. L. Konigsburg
  • A book with a number in the title:
    • A Tale of Two Cities, Charles Dickens
  • A book with a character with your first name:
    • Ulysses, James Joyce
  • A book someone else recommended to you:
    • The Schwa Was Here, Neal Shusterman
  • A book with over 500 pages:
    • Wives and Daughters, Elizabeth Gaskell
  • A book you can finish in a day:
    • Love and Gelato, Jenna Evans Welch
  • A previously banned book:
    • The Catcher in the Rye, J. D. Salinger
  • A book with a one-word title:
    • Phantastes, George MacDonald
  • A book translated from another language: 
    • Beowulf, Translated by J. R. R. Tolkien
  • A book that improve a specific area of your life:
    • All Groan Up, Paul Angone
  • A memoir or journal:
    • Night, Elie Wiesel
  • A book written by someone younger than you:
    • ???
  • A book set somewhere you’ll be visiting this year:
    • ???
  • An award-winning book:
    • The Light Between Oceans, M. L. Stedman
  • A self-published book:
    • Eragon, Christopher Paolini

 

Leave a Reply

