fitness · Fitness and Extra Fries · health

Exercise? I Thought You Said Extra Fries.

It’s been about two weeks since I began my journey to better health. Maybe I should give it a cool name? Anyways, it has been two weeks, and I am beginning to find that maybe this baby step program may not be right for me. It’s seems it’s a lot easier to forget and slip up. At least for me. I can be quite a forgetful person, and I do have rather a bad habit of letting things get on top of me. So, I’ve decided to kick things up a notch. I warned you this was a work in progress.

4754e81c8fc84754eeb0714fa8bbde82

One of the biggest things I need to work on is eating healthier and drinking more water. Let’s be honest: fruits and vegetables just don’t taste as yummy as French fries and ice cream. My last attempt to kick out all unhealthy foods ended rather horribly. In February, I attempted the Whole30 challenge, at the suggestion of one of my sisters. I made it about two weeks. Most days were a stress trying to get a quick healthy meal ready between class and work. I’m pretty sure I ended up having grilled chicken almost every day. Eventually I realized that things were too hectic for me to successfully finish the month. It’s kind of a good thing that I stopped, considering I got one of my famously horrible colds just a few days later. I ate pretty much nothing but chicken noodle soup for the next month.

Now, I’m not bashing Whole30. If I had the time and the patience to plan out meals, and try new, healthy foods, I think things would have turned out rather well. Really, it was just bad timing.

Another thing that I need to work on is…exercise. The horror! Just thinking about it makes me want to lie down and take a nap. But, it is rather important for a healthy lifestyle, so I guess I’m just going to have to soldier through. To avoid sudden death, I am going to take this bit step by step, starting with simple cardio and eventually moving up to exercises for targeting problem areas. Although I’m going to try and avoid “Leg Day.” I’ve heard too many horror stories.

That being said, I’ve decided that the next few weeks are going to be a bit experimental.

One thing I have already begun doing (as I mentioned last time) is taking a multi-vitamin on a daily basis. I also plan on (grudgingly) making a trip to my doctor soon for a physical. I’m just dreading getting my blood drawn. Me + giant needles + blood = a HUGE h*ll no. I can’t even think about it without getting dizzy. *shudders* But, it needs to be done. Though I may not make it out alive.

On the less dramatic side of things, over the next few weeks I am going to try out some different healthy foods. Of course, I’ll also be trying to eat as little junk food as possible, and trying to drink more water. I would try to completely kick my soda habit aside, but I mean, come on. I’m a college student in her last semester. I need caffeine.

Lastly, I will be trying out some different exercise routines that fit with my schedule and cater to my utter lack of any physical fitness.

On second thought, maybe I should just look for one of those sweat machines, like the one that ghost uses in Halloweentown. That would work on a human, right?

Leave a Reply

