Life

Every Sheep Has a Silver Lining

Last week, I had an epiphany. Sort of. It was just one of those days. Actually, it was just one of those weeks. You know the ones: when the entire universe is working against you, and you just want to spend your day cuddled in a blanket binge watching The Office and eating mini chocolate donuts. But, no. Instead, you go out into the world and try to get through the day as best as you can, only to get slapped in the face by a butterfly.

Anyways, back to the epiphany part. I was just sitting in my desk chair like a pathetic lump, waiting for class to start and wishing I were anywhere other than in that prison cold classroom. Like I usually do, I decided to take solace by strolling through Pinterest. My sister, Shannon, and I have a habit of sending each other silly pins that we find. We are the masters of memes.

Lo and behold, as soon as I open up my messages, I find this little number staring up at me:

1fb880ede79ee47219e2d3f2c0d6e9c2

You could say it took me off guard. I had to physically restrain myself from completely losing it right then and there. I don’t know what my classmates would have thought of me if I’d randomly started snorting or clapping like a retarded seal.

However, in that moment, as I stared down at a hundred glowing sheep eyes, I realized that that was the first time I had genuinely smiled, or almost laughed, in quite a while. So to get to the point, my epiphany (which I’ve decided wasn’t really an epiphany) was that…hmmm. Well, I guess it can be summed up in this cliche saying: every cloud has a silver lining. Okay. That’s enough of that. I’m starting to sound like a Hallmark card.

Anyways, in honor of this special, heartwarming moment, I thought I’d think up some of the things that tend to help make my bad days just a bit better. In no particular order:

  1. Funny pins from Shannon (Duh.)
  2. Fuzzy blankets
  3. Sad movies (Ugly crying is good for the soul.)
  4. Naps
  5. Music (Varying from heart-wrenching to eardrum-breaking.)
  6. A good cup of hot tea. Or hot chocolate.
  7. Cartoons (Charlie Brown? Garfield? Phineas and Ferb? Anyone?)
  8. Toe socks
  9. Home videos (yes, I’m sentimental.)
  10. Fresh, homemade chocolate chip cookies

For this last one, I have decided to share my not-so-super-secret family recipe. Although, I don’t know if it can technically be called a “family recipe” since I’m pretty sure a similar recipe can be found on the back of every bag of chocolate chips in existence. But, those recipes don’t come with “Cookie Pro-tips,” courtesy of me. I don’t mean to brag, but I do make the best chocolate chip cookies ever. Or at least in Western Oklahoma. I’ve even been Mom-certified. Chocolate-y goodness: coming soon to a computer screen near you.

2 thoughts on “Every Sheep Has a Silver Lining

Leave a Reply

