fitness · Fitness and Extra Fries · health

Weight for it…

It’s pretty safe to say that I am not the healthiest person in the world. I can’t help it. I just love food. Which may seem ironic for someone as picky as me. I am all too often picked on by my friends and family for my aversion to Chinese food, all things spicy, onions, tomatoes, peppers, and, well, pretty much every other type of vegetable out there. And, as for the whole exercise thing, the only kind I get is running away from my adult responsibilities.

However, as I walked across campus to my car, I felt as if I were trekking up Mount Doom, the weight of the One Ring weighing me down. Sadly for me, I didn’t have a Samwise Gamgee to pick me up and carry me through. It was as I sat in my car, breathless, the air conditioner blowing hurricane strength air around me, that I decided that maybe I should do something about my unhealthy habits.

I should probably go ahead and admit that this is not my first attempt to turn a new leaf in the health department. Trying to change habits that you’ve held basically your entire life is like trying to steal gold from a dragon: quite stressful and just a tad bit difficult. But, this time, I am determined. I graduate in less than 4 months, and it’s high time to step up and turn things around.

Now that I’ve gotten that somewhat embarrassing confession out of the way, it’s time to set aside the Lord of the Rings references and get started. Day One starts…well, tomorrow.

Taking into account a number of health and weight loss articles/blogs, I’ve somewhat developed a plan to get me started. Over the next few weeks, I will focus on adjusting a few of my day to day habits, without drastically changing my routine. So, without further ado, below I have listed my first steps for the long road ahead. I shall call these steps “Phase 1.” Wish me luck!

Phase 1:Weeks 1-3

-Drink at least 5 glasses of water a day-

-Take a multi-vitamin every day after dinner-

-Try to avoid junk food-

-If eating out, go for something healthier-

-Limit yourself to 2 soft drinks a week-

-Exercise once a week-

Leave a Reply

