Uncategorized

The Beginning of the End

Finals are over, summer is here, and I finally have some space to breathe and think freely. And to write.

Sadly, and I never thought I would use that word in this context, this is my last summer before I graduate college. I’ve enrolled for my summer and fall classes, and I am on the fast track to the real world. I’ve been so keen to get through college as quickly as I can, and now that I’m on the last lap, I kind of wish I wasn’t. Strange, huh? I can only blame it on my semi-recent entrance into the terrifying (and not nearly as fun as it looked) sphere of adulthood.

Have you ever heard the saying “Isn’t it funny how day by day nothing changes, but when you look back everything is different?” It’s a quote from my favorite author, C. S. Lewis. It’s been annoyingly buzzing around in my head like a fat persistent bumble bee this past week. With looking at everything that’s about to change, it’s hard not to look back and realize how much has already changed. It feels like just yesterday that I graduated high school. Ironically, the quote above is the same one I used in my valedictorian speech. History does have a knack of repeating itself, doesn’t it?

I would like nothing better than to block out all of this and spend my summer drinking sweet iced tea, baking cookies, reading, and spending a ridiculous amount of time on Pinterest. But, life has a way of knocking you back to reality. Everywhere I turn there’s a reminder of everything that’s different, and everything that’s so soon to change. I’ve never been a huge fan of change, but I think I’ve reached to the point of no return. I think it’s high time I start embracing the wave of change that’s been swirling around me for so long, to embrace my responsibilities as an adult and really start thinking about my future.

Now, I don’t want you guys to worry. I still fully intend to bake cookies and spend ridiculous amount of time of Pinterest. I am determined that in my embrace of adulthood I shan’t abandon the sarcastic, awkward, daydreaming child within me. Not that I could even if I tried. She’s a stubborn little bugger.

Now that I’ve got that off my chest, I think I’ll go rock out to some Disney tunes and look at pictures of cats on the internet. I’m just kidding. I don’t like cats that much.

Leave a Reply

