Holidays · Uncategorized

None Like You

You thought this was going to be a gooey Valentine’s Day post, didn’t you? Nope.

A few weeks ago, it was National Friend Day. Or something like that. I’m using Facebook as an authority here, so I don’t really know. However, the Facebook-made photo video that popped up on my home page inspired me to write a little post about my friends. And that is what I am here to do. Pictures shall be included.

Let’s begin:

Some people are absolute social butterflies. They open up their bright wings and welcome any and all into the bosom of their friendship. They thrive on the nearness of others, collecting new friends like squirrels collect nuts for the winter. I am not one of those people. Oh no. Trying to pass through into the friend zone with me can be quite difficult. It’s not that I don’t like meeting new people, although humanity in general is often on my bad side. I just have a bubble of social awkwardness surrounding me, and it can tend to repel normal human beings. Any potential friends have to push forward and wade through that social awkwardness until they reach my soft, gooey, caramel-y center. Okay. I may have drifted off and started thinking about chocolate there. Oh, chocolate. How I love thee.

Anyways, back to me. The point is that it takes a while for me to warm up to people and make friends, but once I do, they are my friends for life. I’m one of those people who prefers a small tight knit group of super-close friends over a large group of semi-close friends.

For this post, I am going to be talking about two of these super-close friends: My best friends Shawna and Sarah.

12734063_10154273120723488_4251062459517031824_n
Sarah (left) and Shawna (right) in the metaphorical flesh.

Shawna and Sarah are two very special people for they have been blessed with the ability to put up with me and my nonsense. I don’t include my family in this category because they have no choice. Shawna and Sarah on the other hand are champions among men. Well, women. They braved through my social awkwardness and reached…well, more awkwardness, but with an added bonus of massive amounts of weirdness, occasional bouts of wisdom and sanity, and the pleasure of receiving random texts at 2 am about whether or not a whale’s heart can be broken. (They can, by the way.)

First, I must give a special round of applause for my friend Sarah. We met in our 7th grade Art class, and became polite acquaintances. Then, as the years passed, Sarah slowly began to wade her way through the awkwardness and shyness surrounding me. It wasn’t really until our senior year of high school, after spending Junior year in Yearbook together, that Sarah and I became really good friends. Yes, a mere five years later (Talk about patience, right?), Sarah finally made it to my soft gooey center and got stuck in my sugary stickiness never to escape. She’s been my best friend ever since.

Shawna, on the other hand, was a bit of a special circumstance. I met Shawna the summer before my junior year of High School, and she too, like Sarah, became a friendly acquaintance. Then came the incident where we found out we both had a crush on the same guy (hopefully she doesn’t kill me for mentioning that. Sorry, Shawna!). Then came the other incident with the frozen coffees. Let me just tell you: frozen coffees + teenage girls with sleep deprived brains and at least one with a very strange personality = chaos. And that is how, in the span of about a month, maybe two, Shawna charged through my sphere of social awkwardness, in record time, I might add, and reached Best Friend Level.

Now for a moment of sappiness: there are no two people in this world who are more kind, or patient, or loyal, or fun, or supportive than these two ladies. They are both so smart, and beautiful, and loving…and slightly crazy, of course. 😉 I know that they will always be there for me when I need them, and I hope they know the same about me. We have had so many adventures over the years, and I am so excited for the many more adventures to come.

12715479_10154273135863488_6156204463504027761_n

 

Leave a Reply

