Uncategorized

Flashback to the Early 2000s

Not only is today “Flashback Friday,” it is also the last Friday of summer vacation. That’s right. Next week I will be re-entering the world of late nights, early(ish) mornings, papers, exams, coffee runs, and moments of near insanity. As I prepare for this coming semester, both physically and mentally, I can’t help but think of the good ‘ole days in elementary school. Back then, the most I had to worry about was learning my letters and making sure not to pee my pants in front of my class. Or, bursting into tears because I unexpectedly spotted my kindergarten crush in the school library. (Yes, that happened). Anyways, back to the point, and away from embarrassing stories about my childhood: Here is a list of some of the things I miss most from my pre-college days. Let the flashback begin!

  1. New School Supplies

Yes, yes, I know. This isn’t the most exciting thing in the world, but I loved buying new school supplies. It took a little bit of the sting out of having to go back to school. I couldn’t help but admire my new collection of crayons, markers, glue sticks, and #2 pencils. I also couldn’t help but look on with envy as my classmates pulled out brand new multi-colored push up pens, Five Star notebooks, Lisa Frank folders, Elmer’s School Glue GEL, and the amazing 64 pack of Crayola crayons out of their JanSport backpacks. My mom wasn’t a huge fan of buying the “cool” stuff. So many years wasted.

  1. Recess

This one is no surprise. Who doesn’t miss recess? 30 minutes of fresh air, “cops and robbers,” swings, and running away from the boys who liked to pull your ponytail.

  1. Scholastic Book Fairs

Book Fair week was the best week of school ever. I would begin counting down the days until the Book Fair weeks in advance. I remember walking into the library on the first day of the fair with butterflies in my stomach. I absolutely loved breathing in the smell of new books and browsing over all the latest detective gear for kids, before going home and begging my mom to give me some money to support my book addiction. Ah, the days of the Scholastic Book Fair. Those were some of the best days of my childhood. I still have (and read) some of the books I bought there.

  1. Field Trips

I can’t help but miss the exciting days when my class would take a day to go to the Oklahoma Wildlife Refuge Center, or tour the Braums Family Dairy Farm, or walk down to the Tom Stafford Air and Space Museum (located in my hometown). I could’ve done without the long rides on our dirty, smelly school busses, but I loved going on field trips. I felt so grown up, going away on a trip without my parents, and with a killer brown bag lunch (Gatorade and Pringles? Heck yes.)

  1. Super Kids Day

Oh, Super Kids Day. A wonderful day with no classes, tons (or more accurately, tens) of fun activities and contests held on the playground, and the best game of tug o’ war a kid could ask for. I don’t know if every elementary school has this, but I hope they do. This day was one of the best days of school, and a perfect way to end the school year.

  1. Pajama Day

On this day, not only did we get to wear our pajamas to school, we also got to spend the entire day sitting, or lying, on the ground with our pillows, blankies, and a good book, not to mention the wonderful snacks they would sell in the cafeteria. The nerd in me loved these days. I got to spend the whole day reading. In my pajamas. At school. That was the life.

And, that is the end of my walk down memory lane, at least for today. If this post made you smile, or brought forth some of your own memories from school, I’m glad. Now, it’s back to preparing for classes on Monday.

Pretty in Pink <3 this will basically be me on the first day back to college

(Undeniable truth from the classic 80s movie, Pretty in Pink)

One thought on “Flashback to the Early 2000s

  1. Reblogged this on Beauty and the Mess and commented:
    Hello, blog world! It’s been a while. In fact, I’ve almost let the entire month of August pass without attending to my blog. But it’s all good because my sister Molly has me covered. She created a blog titled “The Pretty and the Plain” this past month, and here is her second blog post. Go check it out! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

